David Kratz, President

David Kratz is a painter and the President of the New York Academy of Art. In 2008, he received an MFA from the Academy, where he focused on figurative art and won the Vasari Prize for best-in-show painting at the MFA Thesis exhibition. Kratz has shown in group exhibitions at the New York Academy of Art, Lodge Gallery and Sotheby’s, and at Eden Rock Gallery in St. Barth. Prior to attending the Academy, Kratz was the founder and CEO of Magnet Communications, a leading public relations firm. A graduate of Dartmouth College and Boston University School of Law, Kratz has served on the boards of Citymeals-on-Wheels, the Lifelines Center, and the New Group, as well as helping to found One Day’s Pay. He became president of the Academy in 2009, and since then developed a new strategic plan, spearheaded a facilities renovation and expansion, overseen the Academy’s accreditation from the National Association of Schools of Art and Design and the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, and organized some of the most successful fundraising events the Academy has seen.



Peter Drake, Dean

Peter Drake became Dean of the Academy in 2010, having previously taught at Parsons the New School for Design, the School of Visual Arts, and the Maryland Institute College of Art. His work has been exhibited in solo and group exhibitions throughout the US and Europe, including solo shows at Linda Warren Gallery (Chicago) and District & Co. (Dominican Republic) and group shows at DFN Gallery (New York), Sloan Fine Art (New York) and the Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art. He has also curated exhibitions for the New York Academy of Art, the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, Parsons and the Drawing Center. He is the recipient of numerous grants and awards, including a fellowship from the New York Foundation for the Arts, a National Endowment for the Arts Award and a MTA Arts for Transit Public Art Commission. His work is the public collections of the Whitney Museum, the Phoenix Museum of Art, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, the Achenbach Collection and the Los Angeles County Art Museum. He is represented by Linda Warren Gallery (Chicago).

Board of Trustees

Eileen Guggenheim, Ph.D., Chair

David Schafer, Vice Chair

David Kratz, President

Richard Segal, Treasurer

Ippolita Rostagno, Secretary






Curtis Bashaw

Alain Bernard

Nicolas Bos

Maureen Chiquet

Bob Cochran

Valerie Cooper

Christina Di Donna

Sara Dodd

Eric Fischl

Alexander Gilkes

Margot Gordon

Sharon Jacob

Alina Lundry

Scott Moger

Alyssa Monks

Bob O’Leary

Jessica Rossman

Nicole Salmasi

Brooke Shields

Jonathan Tibett

Naomi Watts

Island Weiss

Russell Wilkinson



Trustees Emeriti

Gordon Bethune

Richard Blumenthal

Christopher Forbes

Tom Wolfe

Advisory Board

Fabiola Beracasa

Bob Colacello

Zani Gugelmann

Gabby Karan

Zoya Loeb

Michael Moore

Misha Nonoo

John Richardson

Andy Spade

Advisory Council

John Alexander

Ali Banisadr

Will Cotton

Eric Fischl

Natalie Frank

Hilary Harkness

Michael Joo

Damian Loeb

Enoc Perez

Alexis Rockman

Bosco Sodi